11 Municipalities and the State of Arizona Officially Declare Independents Week

governor-brewersmallThis year, the State of Arizona and 11 municipalities from across the state have officially declared June 29 - July 6 Independents Week! It's true - Independents Week is a statewide campaign and we're glad that local governments are making our annual summer celebration of local businesses official.

Some of the reasons that so many have declared Independents Week in their communities:

  • Arizona's local independent businesses help preserve the uniqueness of the communities we call "home" and give us a sense of place.
  • Arizona's independently owned businesses give back to our communities in goods, services, time and talent.
  • The health of Arizona's economy, and that of each community within it, depends on our support of businesses owned by our friends and neighbors.

Thank you to the following local governments for officially proclaiming Independents Week:

State of Arizona, Governor Jan Brewer City of Buckeye, Mayor Jackie Meck Town of Clarkdale, Mayor Doug Von Gausig City of Cottonwood, Mayor Diane Jones Town of Jerome, Mayor Nikki Check City of Mesa, Mayor Alex Finter Town of Oro Valley, Mayor Dr. Satish I. Hiremath City of Phoenix, Mayor Greg Stanton City of Prescott, Mayor Marlin Kuykendall City of Scottsdale, Mayor W.J. Jim Lane City of Tempe, Mayor Mark Mitchell City of Tucson, Mayor Jonathan Rothschild

Click here to see our collection of Independents Week proclamations!